Science Bringing Nations Together

Prev | Main | Next

Getting Together

Towards a united Europe for High Energy Physics

1983: Spain rejoins CERN as a Member State after 15 years.
1985: Portugal becomes a CERN Member State.
1991: Finland becomes a CERN Member State.
1991: Poland becomes a CERN Member State.
1992: Hungary and Czechoslovakia become CERN Member States.
1993: The Czech and Slovak Republics both become CERN Member States.
1995: Russia becomes an Observer to the CERN Council.
1999: Bulgaria becomes the 20th CERN Member State.

CERN Directors-General L. Maiani (left) and C. Llewellyn Smith (right) with M. Gaggo, Portuguese minister of Science.

During this period co-operation started with Armenia, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Rumania, Slovenia and Ukraine, while co-operation with Russia continued.

Today more than 1200 scientists, engineers and technicians of Eastern European countries participate in CERN's activities.

Observing from afar

IIn 1994, Japan became the first distant country to be admitted as an Observer to the CERN Council. Observer status allows participation in Council meetings, but not in the Laboratory's decision making process. Japan joins CERN's other observers: Israel, the Russian Federation, Turkey, the European Commission and UNESCO.

Japanese Minister for Science and Culture, K. Yosano, and CERN's then Director-General, C. Llewellyn Smith, congratulate each other on the occasion of Japan's official involvement in the LHC project.

To be continued

Prev | Main | Next

help | mail | links

Copyright (C) 1996-2000 CERN, JINR. All rights reserved. In case of problems or questions please contact the Webmaster.